Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

NOT depression February 24, 2011

Filed under: Anecdotal,art — Addicted to Yarn @ 11:53 am

I commented on someone’s blog and below my comment it said, “LadyRebecc’a last blog . . . Depression” and I think that sucks. It motivated me to post a new blog.

I am obsessed with knitting. I am resenting this blog right now because it means I’m not knitting. I’ve started watching/listening t0 knitting podcasts and it turns out that there are lots of other addicted knitters out there. Some are funnier than others but all are incredibly “normal.” And by normal I mean that they aren’t super stars. They are just folk. Nice folk, maybe folks who are more outgoing and gregarious than myself but ultimately they are not that much different than me. Which makes me feel good. I’m not alone in the world and all that.

So, I’m addicted to knitting. So much so that I took a mini-vacation to Trier for three days and two nights. You know what I did without my husband or daughter around? I bought yarn and knitted. Yup. I spent most of the time in Trier in my hotel room, which was blessedly warm, and knit. I finished a couple of Christmas gifts, started some others and all in all, had a great time.

Works in Progress include a pair of socks for myself (no, I’m not being selfish. I think that the first pair of socks should go to someone whose feet I can measure and try them onto at regular intervals):

a pair of mittens for Jael, a gathered scarf, and a gift for my mother.

Finished Objects of recent completion include the blue cabled scarf

cabled purse that I don’t have a picture of and a pair of mittens for myself (they are complete but, again, I don’t have a picture of them completed)

Pre completion

Projects I’ve got planned? More than I can possibly list here. But I can assure you that there will be more projects as I love knitting. I love it love it love it love it. My husband is wonderful in that he thinks my obsession is cute and not terrifying.

There you have it. I am knitting up a storm and my “most recent blog” is no longer “Depression.” Yay for that!

 

3 Responses to “NOT depression”

  1. Deb Says:

    Haaaa Had to laugh because I’m addicted to crochet! I also got these looms that make knitted hats, and have cranked out so many beanies, so I understand your obsession. It could be worse…..what if it were cheeseburgers!

  2. kukatze Says:

    that is great, you found a wonderful way to overcome this crummy drab weather!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.