Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Socks and Hats March 15, 2011

Filed under: art — Addicted to Yarn @ 2:12 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I love knitting socks and hats. They are small. They are portable. They are wearable. They are fairly quick from start to finish. I am going to attempt to photograph some of my latest projects and include those in this blog but we shall see. Our camera broke so all I’ve got is the built in camera on my computer, which is less than ideal.

Socks. I got “Socks From the Toe Up” by Wendy Johnson from the library and I freaking love it. I think this will be in my next Amazon book order. I have renewed it 2 or 3 times and I am terrified that someone is going to request it before I’m done with it. I am currently knitting two socks from it. The Van Dyke Socks, in KnitPicks Stroll Sport, colorway Peapod. I love these socks. I’ve finished one and as soon as I cast off, I put it on my foot and wore it for the rest of the evening. I washed it and dried it and it’s still just as wonderful – maybe even more so. I’m about 3/4 done with sock #2 and I can’t wait to wear them as a matched pair. EEK!

About the pattern: My foot is 8.75″ around so I knit the 8.5 pattern and it feel a little floppy. Not sure if that’s just handknit socks or what but as I know that fitting the leg is what keeps them from sliding down, I put it 4 ribs around the leg portion of the sock. One between each set of needles. On the second sock, I did a cable between the instep patterns and one on each side of the instep. It looks a little funny on the needle but on my foot it looks SWEET!

I did a short row toe and short row heel. I’ve only tried one other heel (will discuss that next) and I did NOT like it. I really like the short row toe and heel. They are not complicated and I don’t have to seam or pick up stitches. They just fit me really well, both physically fit my foot and also psychologically fit my brain. I guess.

WHOO! Sock #1

Sock #2

The other pair of socks I am working on is also from Wendy Johnson’s book. This pattern is the Diagonal Lace sock pattern. The yarn is Lang Yarns Jawoll Magic, colorway 1005 (I think). It’s a dark green and black variegated yarn. Not sure I like it but I’m going to finish these and then probably will not purchase another skein of it again.

I did the “figure 8″ cast on that Wendy details in the book but I do NOT like it. It makes a very rigid, squarish toe. My foot is very squat and not at all shaped like the sock is. That is really my only complaint. The sock is just a hair too small. I think a few stitches on either side of the instep would have solved it but whatever. Other than issues with the toe, which I will not repeat on the other sock (my sister already knows they won’t be a matched set but she doesn’t care and, really, who is going to be looking so closely at her toes that they will notice?). I am going to do a short row heel when I get to it. I am waiting on my sister to send me her foot measurements so I don’t make the sock too long or short before I start the heel. I might even cast on the second sock if she doesn’t get that to me pretty soon. Anyway, here is sock #1:

Diagonal Lace Sock #1

Next pair of socks will be for Jael, pink with purple toes and heel. Super cute. Can’t wait to start those but must finish the Van Dyke socks first.

I finished a hat for my soon-to-be-here niece. Unfortunately, it was not a newborn pattern. I thought it was but it was not. So I modified it a little but not enough so it might be a few months before she can wear it comfortably. It might even fit her big sister better. Oh well. Here it is, modeled by my skein of Jawoll Magic.

Super cute. I love it. I wish I had a dozen more baby girls to knit it for. Love it love it love it.

Oh, and I don’t know who all still follows this blog, as I so randomly update it, but I also joined Plurk. Yeah. Still in the very early stages of that (opened my account all of like 4 hours ago) but on there I am BitchinBecky. That’s all folks!

 

2 Responses to “Socks and Hats”

  1. Missy Says:

    That is the cutest little hat. Love it. Your socks look great as well. ;)

    • ladyrebecca Says:

      Thank you! When I saw the hat pattern on KnitPicks, I couldn’t resist. It was just, as you said, the cutest little hat. The pattern is actually for an adult to child-sized hat and NOT for an infant. I don’t really see an adult pulling it off unless in costume but babies – yeah. Cute as can be. Hopefully my SIL will think so, too.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.