Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

PROJECT BAGS AWAY! March 25, 2011

Filed under: Anecdotal,art — Addicted to Yarn @ 12:19 pm

I just made the coolest thing EVER! I am so incredibly happy with it. I’ve been looking at project bags on Etsy and they run anywhere from $10 to $40 and that, plus shipping, is a little steep for me, especially when I am a fully capable seamstress. So I found a tutorial (actually, it was recommended to me but I don’t remember by whom) and whipped one up. This is fabric I’ve had laying around for a while. The outer fabric was gifted to me by my wonderful sister (love you, Angie), the lining is some left over muslin from something else and the strap is a remnant from Jael’s renn fair dress.

I'm on the phone - forgive me.

See Ma? No raw edges!

It's squarey goodness!

And finally, filled with a project.

I am so insanely excited. I might even whip up enough to sell on Etsy but I’m not holding my breath for that.

Oh, and I made one modification to the tutorial. When sewing the box corners, I basted the lining to the outer in the seam allowance so that the lining can’t pull out. That seemed like it would be annoying and it looks great.

 

One Response to “PROJECT BAGS AWAY!”

  1. Missy Says:

    That is really cute. It would make a great make up/travel bag as well. Thanks for sharing & have a great weekend. ;)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.