Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

WIC class grievences November 14, 2006

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 1:49 pm

Stinking ignorant people messing up the world for the rest of us.

I had a WIC class today.  I have been dreading this since it was scheduled 3 months ago.  The free food just barely compinsates for what I went through today. 

The class was on choosing a healthier milk.  So there is a poster at the front of the room breaking down what is in the 4 different kinds of milk.  It was a little suprising because I would have thought that whole milk had more protien and calcium but actually 1% is the big winner there.  But most of it wasn’t suprising.   1% has more calories and fat than skim.  2%   has more than 1% and whole has more than 2%.  This is not revolutionary.  This part of the class was boring and not taught very well but it didn’t inrage me…no that came next.

The instructor brings out a tray of milks, in two different types of cups.  We are to taste the two milks and see if we can tell which is the lower fat milk.  I taste and to be honest I couldn’t tell a difference but I kept tasting and looking and finaly decided that maybe the tan cup was lower fat.  The loud ignorant person next to me is caring on about how the blue cup is obviously lower fat because it doesn’t have as much flavor and it’s not as good.  Then the wonderful instructor informs as that we are all dupes because both cups had 1% milk in them.  HA HA! Laugh at the stupid poor people.   I was so mad.  I should have seen it coming.  I should have been more aware but still…it was very frustrating.

And the most frustrating thing is that I am not going to do anything about it.  I am not going to call the WIC office and complain.  I’m not going to write my congressman or anything.  I am just going to complain to my friends about how unfair and demeaning it is.   “sigh”

But, I got another three months worth of WIC checks so I just need to look at is as this class was my payment for this “free” food.  Luckily, I don’t have to deal with them for another 3 months.  Count your blessings, right?

 

One Response to “WIC class grievences”

  1. CC Says:

    Ooooo WIC appointments. I share your pain. That is so annoying to be tricked like that! I should tell you about my “dream” appointment. I got a babysitter for the kids and went to the class. When I got there they said “Do you speak Spanish?” “No” I replied. “Oh well we scheduled you for a Spanish speaking class.” So then they give me a short paper to read over and a 10 question True False quiz. I bring it back and they give me my coupons. The whole ordeal lasted 10 minutes. If only it was always like that!!! Also I still had two free hours without the kids. It was great!


Leave a Reply

