Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Bread Making 101 November 18, 2006

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 11:36 am

I love making bread.  It’s a pain in the keester.  It gets almost every dish in my kitchen dirty.  It takes a significantly larger chunk of time then you would think.  But it has so many good things, too.

The taste is great (when I find a good recipe).  Fresh baked bread is the most wonderful smell that exists in this world.  It is way, way, way cheaper than buying bread.  We usually go through 2 – 3 loaves a week.  Because we don’t want to die at the age of 30 (wow, that’s getting close, too) we buy as good of bread as we can.  At $2.61 a pop, that’s $5.22 to $7.83 a week.  That’s over 10% of our grocery budget.  Yikes.  And the biggest reason of all that I make bread is that it makes me feel good about myself.  I feel like a real wife and mother.  I feel like I am going the right thing. I am working with my hands to create something wonderful and provide for my family.  I get to the end of the day and I say “Hey, I made bread today.  I may not have vacuumed.  I may not have cleaned the bathrooms.  I may not have folded the laundry.  But I made bread.  I cleaned the kitchen (has to happen after bread making or someone will die).  I accomplished something.”

So, anyway.  That’s why I make bread.  If you were here in the next 2 hours, you too, could experience the wonderful aroma of fresh baked bread and the wonderful taste of hot bread and butter. But you aren’t so you will just have to be happy for us. Image Or charter a plane and we’ll pick you up at the airport.  With bread.  Yeah. 

 

Leave a Reply

