Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

In hindsight… November 25, 2006

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 10:13 am

Well, in hindsight, my Thanksgiving story isn’t very funny.  Basically, the turkey wasn’t thawed out on Wednesday.  Instead of going with the original plan and doing Thanksgiving on Saturday (which I nixed because I thought the turkey might go bad. HA!), I went out to buy a  fresh turkey.  But of course, I had put the pumpkin pie in the oven before I realized the turkey was frozen, so I had to wait until it was done before I could leave.  It’s getting on towards noon and my plans of eating at 2 or so are quickly fading.  So I go to the commisary and they are out of “fresh” turkeys.  So I go to Albertsons and their “fresh” turkeys…well, about 50% of them are still frozen.  I guess to them “fresh” means, “We thawed it out for you”  which was exactly what I needed.  But all they had were 20 pound turkeys.  My husband was not excited about a 13 pound turkey.  What to do.  Again, it doesn’t occur to me to do this all on Saturday.  So I buy a big, honking turkey and everything turns out fine. 

It was a very good turkey and then yesterday, when I cooked the other one (still with ice inside), it was very good, too.  So I think that we will have much turkey over the next couple of months.

Yeah, that’s about it.  It was a good dinner and we didn’t gorge ourselves (Yeah!).

 

Leave a Reply

