Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Swallowing My Pride November 29, 2006

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 8:38 am

Okay, here goes.  I was wrong.  I was wrong.  I was wrong. I was wrong.  You know, no matter how I say it, it doesn’t sound right.  Maybe it’s the words and not the emphasis. 
    Now you are all wondering what I was wrong about (Angie has an idea).  A friend of mine sent me a newsletter that her chiropractor sends out.  It was about the dangers of the flu shot and how they don’t really work and getting sick will keep you from getting cancer and how the flu doesn’t really kill that many people, it’s just the fear mongering pharmaceutical companies lying to sell more drug.  I was like, “Yeah! Take that!”  I mean, they had the world’s leading immunogeneticist saying how bad they were and stuff.
    This friend of mine has sent me, shall we say, somewhat unreliable, information in the past and I really wanted to research this stuff for real.  So I asked my husband, always ready to play the sceptic, how to do this.  He shows me how to look up a name in Google and so we do.  Yeah, Hugh Fudenberg, MD was in Google all right.  His license was rovoke because he was a crackpot who refused to believe legitimate research and therefore advised his patients badly.  That was not looking good for this anti-immunization paper so we looked up the statistics that they quoted.  From the CDC.  And they were all made up, too. Everything.
    The flu does kill a lot of people.  Mostly in the danger zone so I am probably not going to rush out and get a flu shot.  Neither is my daughter.  She is not in a high danger enviroment.  But the flu shot isn’t killing people and the flu is.
    So, you are all saying, “Becky, you’ve never taken a die hard ‘anti-flu shot’ stand.  Why did this deserve an ‘I’m wrong’ statement?”  Well, because we also read up on the other immunizations that the CDC had information on.  And yeah, immunizations aren’t the devil.  AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I really like hating immunizations.  I really like blaming them for all the crap that’s going on.  I liked blaming ADHD on immunizations.  I liked the feeling that I was just a little bit better than everyone else because “I knew the truth!”. 

   
So, we will probably get our daughter immunized sometime in the nearish future (we still don’t believe in doctor’s so who knows when we’ll be in a situation where it’s convienent).  But we are glad that we waited and we will probably wait on the next one.  My brain being as it is, I can’t remember what made us decide that waiting was still a good idea.  I don’t know.  Maybe we didn’t and I just blocked that part out.  But anyway.
    I am sorry to everyone that I “preached” at.  I am sorry that I felt “better” than you.  Forgive me?

 

2 Responses to “Swallowing My Pride”

  1. CC Says:

    I forgive you. I didn’t even realize you felt so diehard about it, so you never hurt my feelings! I would suggest looking up places that give cheap/free immunizations at a clinic for lower income people (my guess is they would do the family of active military personnel in a heartbeat) or possibly contact your military community helper thingy and they could probably help you.

  2. Will Says:

    HEHE What do you mean I give you less then reliable emails? I only send you the jokes! I just knew that when you are fanatic about something you are fanatic about it and so I thought hey this sounds like Becky so I sent it to you. I am glad that you did reserch on it though. So mabe there was a reason for me sending it.Good for you!


Leave a Reply

