Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Mindless Ramblings of a Fevered Mind December 17, 2006

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 9:16 pm

Okay, I am not actually fevered. But I feel like I should be. My head feels like it is swelling to really, quite grotesque proportions. My sinuses are so full that I don’t think my brain is really able to effectively communicate with the rest of my body. My throat hurts and every now and then I have one of those wonderful coughs that makes your chest feel like someone is standing on it while wearing cleats. Oh, and my ears are plugged up. I don’t know if I am just crazy but when my ears feel like this, I teeter on the edge of insanity and emotional breakdown. I don’t feel like I can hear but everything is too loud. So I spent $20 at Target today buying drugs, drops, vitamins, juice and syrup all in an attempt to get me through this with my mental health intact. But I forgot to buy more Kleenex. I have half a box to get me through the night. I have gone through 2 or 2 1/2 boxes of tissue in the last two-three days.

So, unfortunately, I don’t really have anything else to write about. I feel like crap. I know that I should be sleeping more but I can’t sleep with my head this full of snot. I know I should be eating healthy but I can’t taste anything so I have no desire to work at making something nutritious. I know that I should lower my stress (stress decreases your immune system) but having snot-head makes me stressed.

Oh, but I did find something that helps clear my airways, at least for a while. Running. Seriously. I ran up the stairs for something last night and at the top of the stairs, I could breathe a little bit better. So I turned around and ran down and then back up and back down and did that about 6 times until I could breath clearly through both nostrils. It only lasts until I catch my breath but, oh, it is so wonderfully beautiful to be able to breath for that bit of time. So my daughter and I went to the park (I walked quickly and she rode her tricycle) and then we chased each other around the park until my other symptoms demanded that I stop before I fell over. Then, after laying her down for a nap, I wanted to nap but again, could not breathe. So I ran laps around our living room (very small laps) until I could breathe (the whole time sniffing Vicks Va-po-rub) then rubbed it on my chest and laid down for a nap. This evening we went for a walk/run around the block. It was great. She is a great running partner. Not so fast as to make me feel fat and slow but not so slow as to slow me down (one would have to be pretty darn slow to slow me down) and she tires of running about when I do. It’s great. By the time she’s 10, I should be in great shape!

Well, I am going to go take some more drugs, syrup, vitamins, and juice. Oh, and some chicken soup — I make killer chicken soup. (I am not trying to torture you, Nana, it’s just a simple fact.)

And I am babysitting again tomorrow. Hopefully I feel better. I guess I could go for walks with her and my daughter. maybe that would be a good idea.

 

2 Responses to “Mindless Ramblings of a Fevered Mind”

  1. nana Says:

    You must be really sick. Did you read what you wrote. “So I ran laps around our living room (very small laps) until I could breathe” Who runs untill they can breathe. I usaully run until I can’t breathe. Weirdo! Just so you know I want some of that soup. Can you over night that please.

  2. Becky Says:

    Ran until I could breath through my nose. maybe I should have clarified that. It’s hard to run in one’s living room until one can’t breathe at all. No, I just jogged lightly until my nose cleared up.


Leave a Reply

