Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Polygamy February 2, 2007

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 7:49 pm

I don’t think polygamy is a sin. God didn’t say it was a sin. He didn’t rebuke any of the many polygamist in the Bible for having multiple wives (he rebuked based on quality and not quantity). When Miriam and Aaron got on Moses for marrying the Ethiopian, God rebuked Miriam. and gave her leprosy for a time. Paul says an elder must be the man of one wife. Okay, so those with multiple wives don’t lead the church. When would they have the time anyway? “Then a man shall leave his mother and father and cleave to his wife and the two shall become one flesh.” Yup, and the three persons of God make one God. Many members make one body of Christ.

Polygamy is a sin in the United States because of civil law. Lust is a sin and if that’s your reason for pursuing polygamy, you are in sin. If you pursue marriage in general for lust, you are in sin. Lust is the sin.

I don’t know why this is such a big deal. It is only our traditions (be careful about taking our traditions and making them Law) that say polygamy is wrong. Anyway. Hope this generates some interest.

Oh, and if I am wrong (I have been wrong before…once or twice I think), I am open to being taught.

And please, don’t yell at me. I will take it personally and I will feel bad. I have no shoulder to cry on right now so please be gentle. Oh, and I have no desire whatsoever for my hubby to take another wife. We have talked about it and have decided that even if it were legal, it wouldn’t be something we pursued. Just wouldn’t work for us. So rest easy all. This has just been a though experiment from me.

Oh, and something I added to my other blog but forgot to add to this one…I think polygamy is a really crappy idea. I don’t think it’s God’s best in the vast majority of situations. I think God’s perfect plan is for one man to be married to one woman. My only point here is it isn’t always a sin.

 

4 Responses to “Polygamy”

  1. oneliterofmight Says:

    Dearest Baby, maybe you should say I don’t want more nooky from anyone else…

  2. Becky Says:

    That may have been a better way of phrasing it…I was fairly upset when writing this…perhaps some editing is in store.

  3. James T Says:

    Hehehehehe. Very interesting. One thing that I’ve always wondered about was, what does a civilization do if they lose a majority of their male population? I mean, they need to bring their numbers back up to rebuild, and there are only so many kids one couple can produce in every given year. Would they be able to overcome tradition in order to save their civilization and enact “Operation Repopulation” or would they be stuck and have to rely on immigration to bolster their population? If it were the female population that was all but wiped out, then they would have to rely on immigration. At that point, polygamy wouldn’t really be much of a concern.

  4. RiverRatRanger Says:

    Interestingly… when societies DO get low on one gender, say in time of war… the ratio of births changes to match the need. This was observed in Europe during WWI when the combination of crew served automatic weapons, poison gas, and anti-personell artillery combined with archaic tactics to wipe out most of the young men in France, Germany, Russia, England, etc. Of course as usual, it was an infusion of good Yankee blood soaking into the ground that finally finished that conflict. As far as polygamy… there are many things which God ALLOWS rather than wishes, because of the “hardness of your hearts” as Jesus said. The fact it isn’t forbidden doesn’t mean it’s OK. Witness the sermon on the mount.


Leave a Reply

