Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Allergies and health care May 17, 2007

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 4:58 am

Well, I have allergies. Yup. Allergies. Lots of sneezing and itchy eyes and runny nose and stuffy sinuses and watery eyes. Oh, and did I mention lots of fun? No? Hmmmm, I wonder why? Oh, that’s right. BECAUSE THEY SUCK!!!

Seriously, I walked through Walmart, an opened package of Kleenex clutched in one hand, a balled up Kleenex in the other, tears streaming down my face as I tried to not claw at my “fiber-glass-insulation-filled-eyes”. My mouth is hanging open because my sinuses are too swollen to allow enough air to pass through to sustain a housefly’s life, much less a human’s.

So I went to the doctor and got three, count them, three, prescriptions. Claritin, Flonaze, and some eye drops. I haven’t filled a prescription since the Keflex experiment (which I am horrible allergic to by the way) which was almost three years ago. So I didn’t really have any idea what to expect price wise. So I step across the hall from the base Family Clinic, where I paid nothing, over to the base Pharmacy, where after waiting about five minutes, picked up my meds, signed my name, and again, paid nothing. You read it correctly. I paid nothing. These are name brand medications and I paid nothing.

Now, if you are reading my husbands blogs you will realize life is not all roses petals and pleasant aromas. There are a lot of thorns and bumblebees in the bed of roses that is the Air Force life. But our medical coverage is one of the petals. I am very content with our current level of coverage.

So, now I can breath with out hanging my mouth open like a dork, my eyes aren’t itchy and runny, and I no longer wake up with my throat on fire from mouth-breathing all night. But every night after supper I have to dose up with a bunch of meds. Not a lot of fun either but the “non-fun” is of such a shorter duration.

Anyway. I don’t really have anything else to say. Insurance has its perks I guess.

 

One Response to “Allergies and health care”

  1. Neil-Angie H Says:

    Don’t you just love genetics! Dad managed to pass on his allergies to every single one of us. I probably should bite the bullet and get some meds for mine so I can stop snoring so my hubby will sleep in the same bed as me again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

