Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

I’m a Real Commuter! July 13, 2007

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 7:10 am

Well, as of about 8:30 this morning, I am a real bicycle commuter. I biffed it big time.

I was riding along on the road, which was getting a bit busy, being a weekday morning. I threw my chain, pulled over, fixed it and headed back into the fray. I rode along happily, enjoying the coolness of the morning. I slowed a bit for a turning car and then stood on the pedals to regain my speed. Just as I was reaching a nice cruising speed my chain slips off again. Well, this wouldn’t have been a big deal except the chain threw just as I was putting my full weight onto my right foot, resulting in me throwing myself, quite energetically, from my bike. I landed on my right shoulder, elbow, and hip. Probably hit my head but that’s what helmets are for so I don’t really know. Luckily, the car behind me was able to stop without plowing into me. The female driver even had the grace to not looked pissed that I made her stop in the middle of the street. So I pushed my bike into the shade, straightened the handlebars and walked home.

By the time I got home, my arm was shaking and to be totally honest, hurt a lot. I hopped into the shower, rinsed the road grime off and took a picture to share with my loving family and friends. So, send me flowers and chocolate.

I feel I have joined the ranks of true bicyclists everywhere. (And if there are any real bicyclists out there please don’t tell me differently.)

 

4 Responses to “I’m a Real Commuter!”

  1. CC Says:

    You most certainly have joined them. Josh has been taken by ambulance for crashes in races. Right now the Tour de France is on and major bicycle crashes have happened every day. That is unusual. Mostly that happens in bad weather. Hope you feel better soon! I also threw a chain once while riding hard and standing up! Ouch!

  2. CC Says:

    Oh one other thing. Did you know most serious male cyclists shave their legs? It’s not so they are more aerodynamic. It is so when they crash the flesh comes off clean instead of all tangled and nasty from the hair!

  3. Neil-Angie H Says:

    Ouch!!! I’m glad you are okay. 🙂 Love you

  4. RiverRatRanger Says:

    Flowers and chocolate… Flowers and chocolate… Flowers and chocolate… all for you. And you might just THINK about a little bit better bike than the Sprawl Mart Special so the chain doesn’t hop off as easily. I’ll bet they sell them at the BX. Tell that “handsome airman” you need one.


Leave a Reply

