Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Some amazing recipes July 31, 2007

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 1:48 pm

I’ve started a new preschool “program” with our daughter. It’s called “Letter of the Week Preparatory Curriculum” or something like that. The basic premise is this: I introduce a new letter every week and all of our activities are based on that letter. We add animal crackers. We make apple juice and read about apple pies. We study antelope and astronauts. It’s a lot of fun.

So last week was “I”. I had a hard time finding snacks that started with “I” so I made food from different countries. We had Italian on Monday, Israeli food on Tuesday, and on Wednesday, we had Indian food. Wednesday’s dinner may have been the best food I’ve ever made—certainly the best in a long time.

I made Chicken Curry, rice, and Naan, plain and garlic. It was so amazingly good. I don’t know if we were just craving Indian or what but it was nearly…well, let’s just say that we are glad we don’t share a wall with our neighbors or they may have been confused.

I don’t know if it’s eating bread with the meal or what but Indian food fills me up better than anything else. I had a single serving of the curry and rice and about one garlic naan and I was full. Almost over full, much to my taste buds’ disappointment. I can’t find any of the ingredients I need to expand my Indian cooking reproitre locally (except for curry powder and fennel seed) so I am going to have to make an order online. Probably going to have to spend about fifty dollars on spices and shipping. Black peppercorns and garlic are about the only conventional spices they use.

Well, I will post more as I experiement but in the meantime, here’s the recipes I used. They are amazing.

Chicken Curry

1 T olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 2-inch chunks

2 T butter

2 T curry powder

1 clove garlic, minced

1 C canned coconut milk

½ C golden raisins (if desired)

  1. Heat oil in a large frying pan over high heat. Add the chopped onions and chicken and cook for 5 minutes or until the chicken is browned on all sides.

  2. Place chicken and onions in a bowl. Wipe out leftover oil with a paper towel.

  3. Melt butter in the frying pan over low heat. Add the curry powder and garlic and cook for 3 minutes.

  4. Stir in the coconut milk and raisins (if desired). Return the chicken and onions to the pan, cover and simmer for 25 minutes. Serve over rice.

Serves: 4 curry lovers

If you like, add ½ C frozen peas just before it’s done simmering.

If you don’t have canned coconut milk, you can substitute chicken broth or milk, plain yogurt or applesauce.

Naan

4 C all-purpose flour

1 t baking powder

½ t baking soda

salt to taste

1 egg, beaten

6 T plain yogurt

3 T butter or ghee, melted (ghee is clarified butter. I used butter and it was a little runny and looked greasy. Tasted great but it didn’t look like the picture)

About 1 C milk

Garlic–if desired

1 T poppy seeds, parsley, chives, or some other “decorative” herb type thing

  1. Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a medium mixing bowl.

  2. Stir in egg, yogurt, and 2 T melted butter. Gradually stir in enough milk to make a soft dough.

  3. Cover bowl with a damp cloth and put in a warm place 2 hours.

  4. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Knead dough on a lightly floured surface for 2 to 3 minutes until smooth, then divide dough into 8 pieces.

  5. If desired, knead a diced/minced clove of garlic into each piece. Roll each piece into a ball, then roll out to make ovals about 6 inches long, pulling ends to stretch dough into shape.

  6. Brush ovals with water and place wet side down on greased baking sheets.

  7. Brush dry side with melted butter and sprinkle with chosen decorative thingy. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, until puffy and golden brown.

    Alternatively: bake for 8 to 10 min
    utes and then brush with butter and sprinkle with pretties.

Makes: 8

 

One Response to “Some amazing recipes”

  1. CC Says:

    You can usually find garam masala, cumin, and coriander in any supermarket spice aisle and these are really the staples of Indian cuisine. I myself have a couple of yummy Indian dishes I’ll have to swap with you.


Leave a Reply

