Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Day Two of the Costume Constructing September 16, 2007

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 8:04 pm

First off, in case there are those who aren’t realy going to read all of this, I got bit by five fire ants yesterday. They really hurt. My toe is so swollen. There is a dent in it where the little bastard stung me and everything around it is hot and swollen and tight. The South sucks.

On to the costume.

So here we are on day two. I decided to make the sword out of foam core board. I think that’s what it’s called. It is white foam sandwiched between white paper/card stock. It’s about 1/4-inch thick. I bought two boards.

I laid out the pattern (after much ado getting the sides symmetrical) and traced it onto the foam board. Step one.

This is the sword all traced out.

I needed to glue the two pieces together in order to cut the sword out as one piece. I didn’t want to glue the two boards completely together as I plan on using the scraps for other parts of the costume. What I ended up doing was this: I took a push pin and poked holes all the way around the sword, about 1/4 – 1/2-inch outside the outline of my sword. When I flipped it over, I was able to place glue inside the dotted outline and then press the two pieces together. The end result: a securely lamenated sword and two large triangles of reusable board.

So, I’m all traced out. Luckily, when we bought the foam board we also bought an X-acto knife – possibly the best craft purchase we’ve ever made. So I just started cutting it out. Eeeeek!

And then it was all cut out. Okay, mostly all cut out.

That’s where we stand. I trimmed the “handle” thinner as it was too big for my hand. Now it feels a little weak so I am thinking of some ways to strengthen the handle (what is that called!?) I think I am going to carve out a groove on both sides of the “handle” and put two chopsticks in and then put another layer of foam to carve into a cylinder shape. So that’s where it stands.

Tomorrow I am going to finish up the rough draft of the sword and start on the head piece.

If anyone has a pair of 8 1/2 to 9 knee high gold boots with high heels that they would loan to me that would be awesome…or a pair of a different color that I could paint. Or a long blond wig-no bangs. Yeah, that’s about it.

 

One Response to “Day Two of the Costume Constructing”

  1. CC Says:

    The handle of a sword is called a “tang” I believe. Good work. I can’t wait to see what you come up with for boots!


Leave a Reply

