Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Sewing projects…AWAY!! July 9, 2008

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 11:34 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve been a very busy sewer later. I made a shirt for Jael, which she refused to wear for over a week. I made two short and shirt sets, which she’d picked out. I made four more shirts off the same pattern. I made myself a shirt and skirt to wear on Israel and my big date. I made another tank top and then a princess seam, button-up, sleeveles shirt. Oh, and I finished the circle skirt I started for Jael a couple of months ago. And I’m working on a corset. Fun, fun, fun.

I have a number of projects planned as well. I’ve a dress for Jael, yellow to replace the last yellow dress which got too short. A pair of pants for me. A skirt and shirt top for me. The skirt will be out of this beautiful material that I wanted to buy when it was full price but I waited and then found it on sale. YAY! Um…oh, a pair of capris for Jael to go with the first shirt I made her. I’m going to put a little sequin butterfly applique thingy on the capris. Should be pretty pretty.

Um…I would like to make a skirt to go with the corset before we go up to see family in Iowa but I don’t know if I’ll get to it. I’d really like to take nothing up there but clothes I’ve made but I am about 99% sure that I won’t get that much done. Unfortunately, my natural cycle gives me about three days where my brain simply won’t work in an organized fashion, making following directions very difficult. Then it takes me a couple of days to get back into it so once a month, I have about a week or so where I just don’t get anyting accomplished. But now that I recognize this, hopefully I’ll be able to work around it.

Anyway. That’s what’s going on in the world of Becky’s sewing. I still love my new machine, though it does do the random sewing machine thing of hating you. It’s always just threaded wrong or something but as to why doing the same thing seventeen times doesn’t fix it until suddenly on try eighteen it suddenly works, I don’t know. I’ll try to take some pictures tomorrow and post them. Some of my stuff is looking really good. I’m very proud. I’m trying to challenge myself and not just make the same easy things I’ve always done. The first shirt I did for Jael and this last one for me were challenges and I’m really pleased with them. Hopefully I will continue to have happy projects.

 

4 Responses to “Sewing projects…AWAY!!”

  1. CC Says:

    Where do you find all that time? You rock!

  2. Natasha Says:

    Woot – Becky is the MASTER!

  3. ladyrebecca Says:

    Um…nap time and I stay up late. Oh, and anytime you are talking to my hubby online or on the phone, I’m sewing.

  4. heathermama Says:

    ROFLOL! you are so funny! i can’t wait to see you!


Leave a Reply

