Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Promised Pictures July 23, 2008

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 5:55 pm
Tags:

Here are some pictures of the sewing projects of late.

Ta-Da!

Ta-Da!

This first one is the dress I made for the SCA fundraiser we attended at Barnes and Noble. I found out about the event on Wednesday night. Thursday morning, we went shopping at Hancock Fabrics. Israel stayed on base all day Thursday until about 10 pm so I worked on it all Thursday and all day Friday until about 130 am Saturday morning. I think it turned out great.

Beautiful but flawed

This dress was great fun making. It’s so adorable. Unfortunately, it’s too small. It fits Jael perfectly in the chest and waist, as in it won’t fit her in another two months but the lenth is WAY to short. When she bends over, you see her entire butt. ENTIRE butt. So that’s not cool. I might try putting a rufle on the bottom but I might just make her another but longer. *sigh* I spent about three hours putting the zipper in it and I really wish she could wear it. I might get her a pair of short/leggings and let her wear it like that. I’m just not sure.

The second, third, fourth, fifth, and seventh (sixth was dirty) shirts I made for Jael.

The second, third, fourth, fifth, and seventh (sixth was dirty) shirts I made for Jael.

These are the shirts I made enmass. At least the four on the left. The orange was the first. I made two green, one with ruffles, one without, and two pinks, one with ruffles, one without all at the same time. Went together really quickly. The one on the right goes with a pair of purple shorts that are too short. I don’t like really short shorts on Jael. She’s got wonderful legs but I just don’t like her panties showing all the time. I was really proud of how professionally I was able to finish these. Here are some detail pictures of the above shirts.

Detail of seam.

Detail of seam.

Detail of hem

Detail of hem

Corset in progress

Corset in progress

And this is my corset. Obviously, it’s not done yet. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get it finished in the next two weeks before we head to Iowa. I want to show it off. It’s been such fun making it.

If you are interested in keeping on my on going sewing projects, I’m posting pictures, some of which I’ve put in this blog, at Shutterfly. You don’t have to join to see them so you can look there if you like.

 

2 Responses to “Promised Pictures”

  1. heathermama Says:

    can you do some adorable pants for that yellow dress? it reminds me of the tops that are really popular right now with leggings? I LOVE IT!
    heath

  2. heathermama Says:

    ok i didn’t see you say….. that about the leggings… doh! 🙂


Leave a Reply

