Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Update from Deutschland September 23, 2008

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 8:21 am
Tags: , , ,

So I am writing these regular updates to friends and family. I think I will post them here as well. Yup. I’m that lazy.

Gutentag! (Good day)

I hope everyone can forgive me, but there is so much to tell everyone that it’s much easier to write group emails and address the specific questions and such within. I hope no one feels slighted. I would like to respond to each email personally but I just don’t have the time or eye power to stare at the computer for so long. That and I would tire of telling the same stories over and over and someone would end up with:

“Have jet lag. Haven’t found house yet. Scenery is beautiful. Sorry about you being sick. Hope work starts going better. Talk to you later.”

And I don’t think anyone wants that letter. So, having said that, here’s the news with some personal notes at the end. Feel free to read everyone’s notes…I won’t put anything personal or private in a group letter. I may be kind of spacey but I’m not quite so spacey or tactless as that!

I met some other wives with their kids today. Jael and I happened to be at the park when another mom and her two kids got there. The kids played together for a while and then she invited me to a playgroup that meets on Tuesdays from ten to noon in the playroom in the TLF (Temporary Lodging Facility) basement. So we did that for an hour or so and then Jael asked to go home. She was feeling tired, what with getting up at 2am and all. 🙂

Anyway, I picked their brains, asking all sorts of questions. Simple things like phone service are complicated here. I’m afraid we might end up with DSL internet. 😦 I’d never used DSL before. Before we had cable internet, I’d used dial-up at home and cable or wireless at the libraries. Our room in TLF at Keesler had DSL and it was sooooooo slow compared to cable. Unfortunately, a lot of the small towns around here do not have cable internet. I guess we’ll adjust but if there are two houses available and one has access to cable internet, I imagine we’ll take it. The internet is our connection to the world, you know?

Oh, and there is a phone company here called TSK and they were running, Melloney was unsure if they still were, a special that you could choose one country that it would be free for you to call. Guess which country I would choose? If we do that, we will have to do the calling!!

The time difference. Just add seven hours to your time. If it’s noon for your, it’s 7 pm for us. If it’s 7 pm for you, it’s 2 am for us and, please, don’t call. 🙂 I’d say it’s safe for you to call from about 11 pm your time until about 3 pm your time. So in the middle of the night, early morning, naptime (for those of you with kids), and right before my dad gets home are good times to call. Weird isn’t it?

Israel doesn’t start work for a couple of weeks but he doesn’t have the day off. He should really get a couple off to get over Jet Lag (and I think it should be capitalized). He’s going to “Welcome to Germany” briefings all day. Fun. Tomorrow I will go with him as it’s more community minded things and less military. Then on Friday we should be going on a tour of Trier, the oldest city in Germany and boat tour. Hopefully. Maybe we’ll even have that new digital camera!

I’ve had a few people ask where in Germany we are. I wish I knew. Ha ha. No seriously. It seems very complicated. The US has such neat lines between the states that it seems much easier. Spangdahlem Air Base is located near the small town of Spangdahlem with larger cities Bitburg and Trier nearby. It is in the Eifel Mountain region in southwestern Germany near the border of Luxembourg. Trier, the oldest city in Germany, is twenty minutes from Spangdahlem. The Mosel River, with its picturesque villages and famous wines, flows nearby. Don’t know if that helps but there you are.

 

2 Responses to “Update from Deutschland”

  1. AmiExpat Says:

    Hey, welcome to Germany! We’re over in your area all the time. My inlaws live outside Wittlich. It’s a really beautiful area. Definitely go visit Trier. Luxembourg is really nice too.

  2. ladyrebecca Says:

    Thanks. We are planning on visiting Trier soon. Hopefully we will be a bit more settled next week. All in good time.


Leave a Reply

