Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Valentine’s Sunrise…well, maybe just a landscape February 15, 2009

Filed under: Anecdotal,art — Addicted to Yarn @ 8:53 pm
Tags: , , , ,
Landscape in pencil

Landscape in pencil

This was my project for the day. I bought a bag of Dove Valentine Hearts. As usual, the wrappers have a small message printed on the inside. I decided Jael and my art project for the day would be to illustrate our message. Mine was “Watch a sunrise together” and I thought I would draw a sunrise and give it to Israel for Valentines day, along with the wrapper. All went well until I realized I’d out the light source coming from the left, of page and the place I’d intended for the sun (between the hills) was the exact opposite of the light source. Oh well. It still turned out really well.

And for those who care to know, this is pretty close to what the view out our kitchen window looks like. Our landlords have a raised bed vegetable garden made from stones, much like the stone walls on the right of my picture. Our hard has four trees and not two and there is another field between our yard and the forests. Our yard also has birdhouses and a well/fountain and various other landscaping stuff. But other than that, this is what I get to look at every day. And the light source really does come from that direction so I drew accurately what I see but just not what I was seeing in my mind.

Oh, and this is the scarf I’m knitting Israel. It’s probably about 3/4 finished. I’m enjoying it but I’m also ready to move on to other projects. With German taking up two hours of free time I don’t have nearly the time for knitting that I had a couple of months ago. But I try to knit a few rows every day and hopefully it’ll be finished before we leave Germany.

Israels rainbow scarf - in Traveling Ribs pattern

Israel's rainbow scarf - in "Traveling Ribs" pattern

 

One Response to “Valentine’s Sunrise…well, maybe just a landscape”

  1. CC Says:

    Could you pretty please knit me a scarf? I was on a tropical island the year you knitted them for everyone else in my family so you didn’t make me one. Now I’m in the frozen north land and I would LOVE one. =) PS If there is anything you would like that you can’t get in Germany let me know and I’ll send you some. (within reason, I’m not sending you an American car or anything)


Leave a Reply

