Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Algerbra and inconsistencies January 29, 2010

Filed under: Anecdotal — Addicted to Yarn @ 10:38 pm

This is a stupid thing to complain about, I know. But I’m going to complain, nonetheless. I just got done taking “Intermediate Algebra” It was a remedial math course so that I can take the next math course which will actually count towards my degree. Part of my grade is participation. Since the class is online, particaption is spelled out really clearly. Here it is:

Participation Rubric for Conferences

Each week the student will be awarded up to 1% of the course grade for their participation in conferences. Students will receive a grade of 0%, 0.5%, or 1% on a weekly basis.

Beginning the second week students will have to prepare a problem assigned by the instructor as one of the weekly postings.

1% is awarded for the week

* Participant posted at least 3 times including the assigned problem. Each student will be assigned a problem to post beginning week 2

* The postings must be comments, questions, and responses about how to do specific problems from the Course Modules, textbook, or homework that is not turned in to the assignment folder. Comments like “This section was easy for me.” and “This section was difficult.” will not be counted towards the weekly participation.

* Comments and/or questions significantly enhanced the quality of discussion (i.e. illustrated a point with examples, suggested new perspectives on a problem, asked questions that helped stimulate further discussion, etc.)

* Comments and/or questions provided evidence that the participant had read and considered a substantial number of classmates’ postings before responding.

* Ideas were expressed in a clear and coherent manner.

* (For week 1 also post a message introducing yourself)

0.5% is awarded for the week

* Participant posted 2 times including the assigned problem.

* The postings must be comments, questions, and responses about how to do specific problems from the Course Modules, textbook, or homework that is not turned in to the assignment folder. Comments like “This section was easy for me.” and “This section was difficult.” will not be counted towards the weekly participation. Comments and/or questions were reasonably responsive to the weekly material.

* Comments and/or questions enhanced the quality of discussion (i.e. illustrated a point with examples, suggested new perspectives on a problem, asked questions that helped stimulate further discussion, etc.)

* Comments and/or questions provided evidence that the participant had read and considered at least some classmates’ postings before responding.

* Ideas were expressed in a clear and coherent manner.

* (For week 1 also post a message introducing yourself)

0% is awarded for the week

* Participant posted only one time and did not post the assigned problem.

I had no problem with this as a requirement and I fully understood that if I didn’t follow it, I would not get full credit for participation. Week 8, I was busy, life was hectic, and I did nothing but post my assigned problem. So what was my grade for week 8?

Full credit, same as for week 7 and week 9 that had full participation and every other week. All full credit. Why post the stupid “Participation Rubric” if you aren’t going to follow it? I mean, I know that I’m the teacher’s pet (I can’t help it and I’ve gone through lots of inner healing to deal with the guilt so back the heck off! *grin*) and all but I’m kind of pissed. I mean, here was a situation where I knew that I wasn’t doing all that was required of me. I knew that I would not get full credit and I did it anyway! And what did I get?

Full credit.

So, why did I bother to work for the other 9 weeks of class? Why not just do the three posts the first couple of weeks and then flake for the rest? How little could I get away with doing?

Anyway, I’m irritated because I like knowing what to expect. What happened was arbitrary and right now, it worked for me. Next time it might not and that’s going to piss me off.

*sigh*

 

One Response to “Algerbra and inconsistencies”

  1. Darkwulfe Says:

    I left online classes because I couldn’t dream of doing it online. My math is so bad that when they said I had to take remedial math I told them to try more like, reconstrunctive math! I literally am so bad at math that I dropped out of calculus twice and finally changed my major to avoid having to do it! I did online classes and found that some teachers are stricter than others and you never did know what you were going to get. So I totally understand your frustration.


Leave a Reply

