Ladyrebecca's Musings and Ramblings

The Increasingly Political Thoughts of Rebecca (Becky) Walker

Finals March 31, 2010

Filed under: Anecdotal,educational — Addicted to Yarn @ 4:22 pm
Tags:

Well, I’ve become a very bad blogger. I don’t know that I’ve ever blogged so little for so long. Living with my family has its upsides but it definitely has its downsides too and one of those is not being home. I’m not sitting in the chair WE bought at the computer table WE picked out, typing on OUR computer. Instead I’m sitting at someone else’s desk, in someone else’s chair, working on their computer. It’s not that any of their things are bad, per se, just not mine. Not what I would have chosen for my maximum comfort.

Then there is the distraction factor. My house has one primary distraction. The computer. If I’m bored and want to procrastinate homework or housework, I sit down at the computer to amuse myself. After checking email and facebook, reading some blogs and comics, I’ll often find myself writing a blog entry of my own. Such a progression, though, requires a certain amount of time. It’s not very often that I sit down and just blog. I need to be bored (and uninterrupted) for a fair amount of time, which just doesn’t happen that much.

But here I am. Today. Writing a blog. So what’s been going on? Let me tell you.

I am in the last week of this term. I’ve taken my math final and am done with that class. I took my writing final but still have a research paper to finish up and that’s the really crappy part. I put it off and put it off and now it’s crunch time and I still don’t want to do it. I have patiently waited for it to write itself but it has not and so the responsibility falls to me. *sigh*

The primary problem with writing this paper is that it’s about home birth. I chose home birth because its something that interests me and writing about things that don’t interest me is really freaking hard. Turns out that writing about something I feel strongly about and regularly makes me scream at stupid people is really hard to do, too. Between going off on rants and being so disgusted with the American medical establishment that I can’t read anymore, I have gotten a little bit done. Not enough, but some. Hopefully the next few days will see something accomplished.

I’ve set a goal for myself, actually. The paper is due 5pm Sunday. There is a show Saturday night that I’d like to see. If my paper is done Saturday evening, I can go. If not, I don’t get to.  If it’s done, then Sunday can be spent doing a last edit.

Speaking of finishing my paper, I should probably get to it. My daughter is heading outside to play. (Have I mentioned how much I love Iowa? No? Well, I do. It’s heavenly and I’m sorry I ever doubted that.) I had some breakfast – need coffee, though. I think I’ll go make coffee, send Jael outside, take notes while drinking coffee, and see real progress on my paper in a couple of hours.

 

Leave a Reply

